Hello World Example and Tomography

I am just getting started with Quera, and I have a theoretical physics background, but not much prior knowledge of neutral atoms. I am working through the tutorial on QuEra-braket-examples/HelloWorld/HelloBraket_OrderedPhases.ipynb at main · QuEraComputing/QuEra-braket-examples · GitHub and I have a few very elementary questions to make sure I understand everything correctly.

Each atom can be in three states, denoted as $\ket{0}$, $\ket{1}$ and $\ket{r}$. The states $\ket{0}$ and $\ket{1}$ are degenerate ground states and the state $\ket{r}$ is an excited state. Is this correct?

The time-independent part of the Hamiltonian includes the operators $\hat{n}_j$. Is this just the operator $\ket{r_j}\bra{r_j}$, which has eigenvalues $1$ or $0$ corresponding to whether the atom $j$ is in the Rydberg state?

Executing the program after In[6:], we get a plot of the Rydberg density on the 10 atom 1-dimensional crystal. Is this a plot of the expectation value of the operator $\ket{r_k}\bra{r_k}$ in the final state of the system, after applying the Hamiltonian?

My specific question is, what information is stored in the variable result, and how can I access it, besides using get_avg_density()? Is it possible to do other measurements, or some sort of tomography to find out what the full quantum state of the atoms is?

Hey @s99 let me do my best here to answer your questions :grin:

\newcommand{\ket}[1]{\left| #1 \right>} \newcommand{\bra}[1]{\left< #1 \right|}

Each atom can be in three states, denoted as \ket{0}, \ket{1} and \ket{r}. The states \ket{0} and \ket{1} are degenerate ground states and the state \ket{r} is an excited state. Is this correct?

The \ket{0} and \ket{1} states are hyperfine split, but in Aquila indeed that split is not resolved. We only operate between a ground state \ket{g} which is a member of the hyperfine multiplet and the Rydberg \ket{r} state.